Press: Louisville hosts 45th annual ADDY Awards

By Staff for The Lane Report

March 1, 2019

LOUISVILLE, Ky. — The American Advertising Federation – Louisville hosted its premier creative competition, the 2019 ADDY Awards Thursday. For the 45th consecutive year, The ADDYs recognized outstanding creative work in the areas of advertising and marketing.

This year’s gala was held at the Foundry at Glassworks and boasted over 270 attendees. From a total of 366 entries, over 100 awards were presented to 22 local companies, agencies and schools.

The ADDYs are awarded in two categories, Gold and Silver. There are also special categories including Best of Show, Judge’s Choice awards, and The People’s Choice Award which is determined by attendees on the night of the gala. AAF – Louisville also presented two Local Only Awards – “The One That Got Away” and “Culturally Legit” – both of which, while not eligible to proceed to the district competition, recognize local advertising creative in categories unique to Louisville.

“Each year, The ADDYs showcase and recognize the past year’s outstanding advertising creative. Running the gamut from national campaigns to local community projects – all of this year’s winners set the industry standard for advertising creative,” said Lauren Beckley, Executive Director for AAF-Louisville. “As an organization, we look forward to this event every year as it provides a snapshot of the caliber of work being developed right here in Louisville.”

Winning an ADDY is the first step in the three-tiered American Advertising Awards process. The second step is the District 5 competition, with winners competing against other advertising clubs in Kentucky, Ohio, and West Virginia. District winners will be eligible to move to the third tier of the competition for a chance to be recognized on a national level.

Judging for The ADDYs is a two-step process. The digital portion of the competition was judged remotely, and the remaining entries were judged in-person at The Kentucky Center for the Arts in Louisville. This year’s judges included: Matthew Bogard – Momentum Worldwide, Erik Borreson – Marshfield Clinic Health System, Mike Ferrer – GSD&M, Sophia Latto – Blackbaud, Joe Mayernik – Brandtatorship, Ben Rigsby – Snapshot Interactive, Kira Sea – Hmblt and Peter von Klueger – Von Klueger Creative Studio.

Read More


November 11-14 2021
The Brown Theatre
Choreography by Robert Curran
Music by Pyotr Ilyich Tchakiovsky

This will close in 0 seconds

The Brown-Forman Nutcracker

December 11-23, 2021
Whitney Hall, Kentucky Center
Choreography by Val Caniparoli
Music by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

This will close in 0 seconds


January 12-22, 2022
Louisville Ballet Studios

This will close in 0 seconds

Spotlight Series: Impressionism to Jazz

March 3-5, 2022
The Brown Theatre
A mixed repertory evening featuring:


Choreography by George Balanchine

Music: "Pelléas et Mélisande" + "Shylock" by Gabriel Fauré

In G Major

Choreography by Jerome Robbins
Music: "Piano Concerto in G Major" by Maurice Ravel

World Premiere Work

Music by Louisville-based Jazz Composer and Musician, Dick Sisto

This will close in 0 seconds

Sleeping Beauty

March 31 - April 2, 2022
The Brown Theatre
Choreography by Adam Hougland
Music by Pyotr Ilyich Tchakiovsky

This will close in 0 seconds